Showing posts from October, 2007

Salient points about log4j

0. Log4j has three main components: loggers, appenders and layouts.

1. Loggers are named entities which follow hierarchical naming.
2. A logger is said to be an ancestor of another logger if its name followed by a dot is a prefix of the descendant logger name. A logger is said to be a parent of a child logger if there are no ancestors between itself and the descendant logger. For example, the logger named "" is a parent of the logger named "".
3. The root logger resides at the top of the logger hierarchy. It is exceptional in two ways:

1. it always exists,
2. it cannot be retrieved by name.
Invoking the class static Logger.getRootLogger method retrieves it.
4. Loggers may be assigned levels. The set of possible levels, that is:


are defined in the org.apache.log4j.Level class.

5. The inherited level for a given logger C, is equal to the first non-null level in the logger hierarchy, starting at C and proceeding upwards…